A Leader in lifelong legal learning
Contact Us

This is an annual must-attend OsgoodePD program, featuring a truly national faculty of leading class actions practitioners on the forefront of today's leading class actions cases and hot button issues. They will critically examine and guide you through the many complexities of class actions litigation.

Class actions are still booming with a never-ending list of high-profile new cases. These complex litigation files continue to foster old and new challenges for those professionals who must be on top of their game to succeed. Topics include:

  • The wild world of fees
  • A preview of SCC Competition Act appeals
  • Update on Ontario’s legislative review of class action reform
  • Tips on negotiating your next settlement: lessons learned from private law class action cases
  • Are certifications becoming summary judgment light?

PLUS! New for 2019:

Notices Workshop: This session will be very practical in nature and include a best practices discussion from the panelists who will work through a basic notice and notice plan. Delegates will have an opportunity to suggest improvements and corrections.

The GOAT Debate: What is the Greatest Class Action Decision of all Time?
This will be a lively and interactive session where counsel will debate and audience members will vote. One delegate will take home a door prize!

Over 2 intensive days you will get the key updates on the most critical current and emerging issues and have the opportunity to connect with your colleagues from across Canada and learn from experienced litigators and judges as they share their experiences and insights.


Program Chairs

  • Gordon McKee, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
  • Michael Rosenberg, McCarthy Tétrault LLP

Planning Committee

  • Marie Audren, Audren Rolland LLP, Montreal
  • The Hon. Justice Ward K. Branch, Supreme Court of British Columbia, Vancouver
  • Gordon McKee, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
  • Celeste Poltak, Koskie Minsky LLP
  • Michael Rosenberg, McCarthy Tétrault LLP


  • Daniel Bach, Siskinds LLP
  • Kirk Baert, Koskie Minsky LLP
  • Andrew Borrell, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP, Vancouver
  • The Hon. Justice Ward K. Branch, Supreme Court of British Columbia
  • Luciana Brasil, Branch MacMaster LLP, Vancouver
  • Laura J. Bruneau, Senior Vice President, Epiq Class Action Services Canada, Ottawa
  • The Hon. Justice Chantal Chatelain, Superior Court of Québec
  • Karine Chênevert, Borden Ladner Gervais, Montréal
  • Kate A. Crawford, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
  • Darryl A. Cruz, McCarthy Tétrault LLP
  • Karim Diallo, Siskinds Desmeules, Quebec City
  • Michael A. Eizenga, LSM, Bennett Jones LLP
  • Shaun E. Finn, BCF Business Law, Montréal
  • Laura K. Fric, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
  • Mathew Good, Good Barrister, Vancouver
  • John Green, Hanson & Co. Personal Injury Lawyers, Vancouver
  • Jean-Philippe Groleau, Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP, Montréal
  • Marc-André Grou, Audren Rolland LLP, Montréal
  • Travis A. Henderson, Senior Counsel, Civil Litigation Section, Department of Justice Canada, Ottawa
  • Peter Lawless, Government HCCRA Claims in Class Actions, Ministry of Attorney General, Victoria
  • Robin Linley, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
  • Larry Lowenstein, Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP
  • Gordon McKee, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP
  • Catherine McKenzie, IMK Avocats, Montréal
  • Megan McPhee, Kim Spencer McPhee Barristers P.C.
  • Scott Maidment, McMillan LLP
  • The Hon. Justice David Masuhara, Supreme Court of British Columbia
  • Ian C. Matthews, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
  • The Hon. Justice Sharon D. Matthews, Supreme Court of British Columbia
  • Reidar Mogerman, Camp Fiorante, Matthews, Mogerman, Vancouver
  • Jeff Orenstein, Consumer Law Group P.C., Montréal
  • The Hon. Justice Paul M. Perell, Ontario Superior Court of Justice
  • Professor Catherine Piché, Faculty of Law, Université de Montréal
  • Celeste Poltak, Koskie Minsky LLP
  • Jonathan Ptak, Koskie Minsky LLP
  • Sylvie Rodrigue, Ad.E., Torys LLP
  • Michael Rosenberg, McCarthy Tétrault LLP
  • The Hon. Marshall Rothstein, C.C., Q.C., Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP, Vancouver
  • James Sayce, Koskie Minsky LLP
  • Kent E. Thomson, Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP
  • Vera Toppings, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP
  • Linda Visser, Siskinds LLP
  • Raymond F. Wagner, QC, Wagners, Halifax
  • Cheryl M. Woodin, Bennett Jones LLP
  • Joey Zukran, LPC Avocats Inc., Montréal


Group Discounts and Financial Assistance

Please note that the group discount is only available when paying for members of the same organization, at the same time, and payment is made with one invoice.  For financial assistance, please email financialaid-opd@osgoode.yorku.ca

Webcast Fee per Delegate

2-3 delegates: 25% off program fee
4-10 delegates: 30% off program fee
11+ delegates: 35% off program fee
Boardroom rates available.


The video stream will be sent to you via email as soon as payment is successfully processed.


All sales are final. Please make all enquiries related to program content and CPD/MCLE credit hours prior to purchase.


Have a question? Read our FAQs.

Technical Support

In the event you experience technical difficulties, please contact opdsupport@osgoode.yorku.ca for assistance.

Program Details

Delivery Method

Web - On Demand

Date Recorded
April 4, 2019
Fee per Delegate

$1695 + HST

Buy Now

Eligible CPD Credit Hours


Who Should Attend

  • Plaintiff and Defence Counsel Practicing in Class Actions
  • In-house/Corporate Counsel
  • Members of the Judiciary
  • Class Actions Academics
  • Government Litigators
  • Liability Insurers
  • Notice and Settlement Specialists

Back to top

Accredited By


Thank you to this year’s sponsors:



For sponsorship information, please email SAhad@osgoode.yorku.ca.